top of page

sensitive to gluten? check your skincare label

\tim-les\ natural beauty products are 100% FREE from Gluten.

\tim-les\ skincare products are 100% Gluten free

If you’re just trying out a gluten-free diet, you probably don’t need to worry about topical gluten; but if you’re gluten-free due to a medical condition, then what you put on your body may be important.

For those with gluten intolerance, sensitivity, or allergy, hidden forms of gluten in cosmetics and hygiene products can cause major health issues. After being diagnosed, most people look toward removing the toxic protein from their foods. In essence, removing obvious sources like bread, pasta, cereal, pizza, bagels, etc. For many, the diet change can seem overwhelming, and looking at hidden glutens in cosmetics or hygiene products is not even a thought yet.

Some experts say that gluten molecules are too large to enter the skin and that they’re fine unless you ingest them, but a few doctors disagree, claiming that topical skincare products enter the bloodstream after being absorbed through the skin.

Cosmetics companies aren’t required to list wheat as an ingredient on the label, and they aren’t obligated to declare the presence of gluten. As with food, check manufacturer websites, shopping guides, and smartphone apps to find the gluten-free status of cosmetics, lotions, shampoos, and other nonfood products.

Asthma and inflammatory skin conditions (dermatitis) are common in those who have been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity. If you react to gluten, it is strongly advised that you look at the ingredients on cosmetics, soaps, and hair products.

Ingredients that may contain gluten in your cosmetics:

  • Glutens: Hydrolyzed wheat gluten, Triticum vulgare (wheat) gluten

  • Flours: Avena sativa (oat) kernel flour, hydrolyzed oat flour, Secale cereale (rye) seed flour

  • Extracts and oils: Barley extract, fermented grain extract, hydrolyzed malt extract, phytosphingosine extract, Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ extract, Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil, yeast extract

  • Proteins: Hydrolyzed vegetable protein, hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed wheat protein/PVP crosspolymer

  • Starches: Hydrolyzed wheat starch, Triticum vulgare (wheat) starch

  • Dextrins: Dextrin and maltodextrin (usually gluten-free because it’s derived from corn in the U.S., but not always), dextrin palmitate, and cyclodextrin

  • Vitamins: Vitamin E (may have wheat germ as the source)

  • Other: Samino peptide complex, sodium C8-16 isoalkylsuccinyl

bottom of page